宜居社区

取到木棍的金毛猎犬

2009 年 6 月 16 日,美国住房和城市发展部 (HUD)、美国交通部 (DOT) 和美国环境保护署 (EPA) 共同帮助全国社区在保护环境的同时,改善经济适用住房的供应、增加交通运输方式和降低交通运输成本。20 合作推动可持续发展的社区,这对实现国家目标至关重要。这些目标包括加强国家经济、在为持续繁荣建立基础的同时现在就创造好的就业机会、更有效地利用能源以保障能源的独立性,以及保护国家自然资源和人民健康。21 三大联邦机构共同合作建立了关于可持续发展社区的合作伙伴关系,帮助全国各地以更环保和更经济的可持续方式发展。 这些合作机构将以下六项宜居原则纳入了联邦基金计划、政策和未来的立法提议:

  • 提供更多的交通运输选择
  • 促进公平的经济适用住房
  • 增强经济竞争力
  • 支持现有的社区
  • 协调和利用联邦政策和投资
  • 重视社区和附近地区

西部快线(XpressWest)支持这些宜居原则。 依据定义,该系统将为本通道提供新的交通运输选择。 本项目将通过启动附有大量就业机会和培训的高速铁路施工、运营和维护行业,增强经济竞争力。 本项目将通过在客运站周围促进以公交为主导的多功能发展,支持南加州和南内华达州的现有社区。 除上述政策外,本项目还体现了《2008 年客运铁路投资和改进法案》(PRIIA) 第 307 节所述的联邦政策目标,其中规定 美国交通部(DOT) 的铁路计划必须为货运和客运提供一个一体化、具有凝聚力、高效且最优化的国内铁路系统。

目前,南加州和南内华达州的旅客没有高速铁路选择。 虽然服务的设立仅仅是为了满足 PRIIA 强制规定的互联性要求,但所设计的 西部快线(XpressWest)却能为未来的高速铁路系统提供完整无缝的互操作性能。 此方法与 联邦铁路管理局(FRA) 表达的理念一致,至关重要的是,每个高速铁路列车组应能与其他普通和高速铁路列车组进行互通;最为关键的是,单个高速铁路系统应能与其他高速铁路和客运系统兼容,并且还可以与之连接。22 最后,按照设计,本项目会最大化对现有路权的利用,以便实现无需在整条铁路线上搬迁一户人家,以此表示对社区和附近地区的重视。

21 同上

22 FRA 于 2011 年 3 月 25 日就第 FRA-2010-0098 号文件致 XpressWest 的函件。



xpresswest 新闻发布



关于我们
首页
项目
经济影响
利益
项目支持
小型企业
规划和开发
里程碑
环境
列车
安全
宜居社区
美国 HSR 政策
西南网络
网络
扩建和连接
帕姆代尔 高地沙漠走廊
媒体和联系方式
联系我们
媒体资料包
链接

LIVABLE COMMUNITIES

golden retriever fetching stickOn June 16, 2009, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) joined together to help communities nationwide improve access to affordable housing, increase transportation options, and lower transportation costs while protecting the environment.20 The partnership promotes the principal that sustainable communities are important to our national goals of strengthening our economy, creating good jobs now while providing a foundation for lasting prosperity, using energy more efficiently to secure energy independence, and protecting our natural environment and human health.21 The three federal agencies came together to create the Partnership for Sustainable Communities to help places around the country develop in more environmentally and economically sustainable ways. The partnership agencies incorporate six principles of livability into federal funding programs, policies, and future legislative proposals:

     •     Provide more transportation choices
     •     Promote equitable, affordable housing
     •     Enhance economic competitiveness
     •     Support existing communities
     •     Coordinate and leverage federal policies and investment
     •     Value communities and neighborhoods

The XpressWest supports these principals of livability. By definition, the system will provide a new transportation choice in the Corridor. The Project will enhance economic competitiveness by initiating the high speed rail construction, operation, and maintenance industry with significant job creation and training. The Project will support the existing communities of Southern California and Southern Nevada by fostering transit oriented and mixed use development around the terminal Stations. In addition to policies cited above, the Project embodies the federal policy objective as stated under the Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act of 2008 (PRIIA) Section 307, which provides that the DOT’s rail plan must promote an integrated, cohesive, efficient, and optimized national rail system for the movement of goods and people.

Currently, Southern California and Southern Nevada travelers have no high speed rail option. While merely establishing the service satisfies the requirement of interconnectivity mandated by PRIIA, XpressWest as designed, will provide for complete and seamless interoperability with future high speed rail systems. This approach is consistent with the belief expressed by FRA that it is imperative that each high speed rail trainset be interoperable with other conventional and high speed rail trainsets and that it is critical that individual high speed rail systems are compatible with and can connect with other high speed rail and passenger systems.22 And lastly, as designed, the Project values communities and neighborhoods by maximizing the use of existing right-of-way so as not to require the relocation of even one household over the entire rail line.

21 Ibid.

22 March 25, 2011 letter from FRA to XpressWest regarding Docket number FRA-2010-0098.



xpresswest News Room



About Us
Home
The Project
Economic Impact
Benefits
Project Support
Small Businesses
Planning & Development
Milestones
The Environment
The Trains
Safety
Livable Communities
U.S. HSR Policy
Southwest Network
The Network
Expansion & Connectivity
Palmdale HDC
Media & Contacts
Contact Us
Media Kit
Links