美国高铁政策

庞巴迪列车

联邦政府已提出了众多与美国高速铁路发展相关的公共政策目标。西部快线(XpressWest) 直接满足了这些目标。27 西部快线(XpressWest) 将提供支持交通部、财政部、劳工部、能源部以及商务部等政府及内阁机构既定战略政策目标的利益。 交通部的战略目标提供了最具行业针对性的指南,在其名为《美国高速铁路的愿景》(Vision for High Speed Rail in America)的报告中对这些目标进行了详细论述。28 所述目标为: 确保安全、高效的交通选择;打造经济竞争力的基础;提高能源效率及环境质量;并支持宜居社区互连。29

2008 年 10 月,美国国会颁布了《客运铁路投资及改善法案》(Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act,PRIIA), 该法案确立了一项开发高速铁路通道的计划——授权斥资 15 亿美元发展高速铁路项目。2009 年,联邦政府满怀激情地宣布了其致力于成为发展世界一流的美国高速铁路网的重大投资商及合作伙伴的决心。政府通过其《2009 年美国复苏与再投资法案》(American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009,ARRA) 和《美国高速铁路的愿景》(Vision for High Speed Rail in America) 中所载的 80 亿美元“头期款”,向公众传达了其目标战略、方式、标准以及实施计划。这些核心文件表明美国政府致力于推动未开发产业的发展。

联邦政府史无前例的高速铁路投资基金引起了成百上千的资金申请,以及几十亿美元的拨款和补助。开发一个高效的高速铁路网不但是必要的,而且更重要的是,可以满足随着人口增长和可用自然资源减少将会持续对我们的社会构成挑战的社会需求,本着对与此相关的利益的清晰理解,许多州和利害相关方对政府的议程作出了响应,并推动了项目发展。

尽管政府的承诺激起了溢于言表的兴奋之情,但是只有极少数项目接受了联邦政府的提议去投资发展高速铁路项目。然而,有一个私营项目持续开发了一个高速铁路项目,该项目可实现所述的战略性联邦政策目标,目前已经“准备就绪”,在环境、监管以及路权许可和批准各方面均已就绪——这便是 西部快线(XpressWest)项目。 美国交通部

西部快线(XpressWest) 将会把南加州和南内华达连接起来,是美国唯一一个已完成环境审查流程、30 已获得所有所需的路权批准、31 并获得地面交通理事会 (STB) 对建造和运营高速铁路系统的授权的拟议高速铁路项目。32 而且,西部快线(XpressWest) 已经在迄今为止并未获得任何公共资金的情况下实现了这些重要的里程碑。

与其他此类对国家具有重要意义的尚未开发的全新行业相似,西部快线(XpressWest) 项目与美国交通部的《美国高速铁路的愿景》(High Speed Rail in America)所述目标非常一致。实际上,我们现在认为理所当然的成熟产业(如航空、微处理、个人电脑、互联网、蜂窝通信、合成燃料和核能、风能及太阳能发电)当前所取得的成功很大程度上要归功于其早期获得的稳健的联邦资金——既包括直接投资及补贴,也包括联邦用户采购。33 一个良好发展、获得适当支持的美国 高速铁路行业可带来有形的近期利益,并为未来几代人带来长期的社会利益,包括在我们郡创造新的商业流以及目前尚未意识到的联邦税收和州税收。

凭借可管理的资本成本、大量的市场需求以及私人资本的配置,西部快线(XpressWest) 项目是开启高速铁路发展的理想项目。拉斯维加斯和南加州是高速铁路客运的独特目的地市场,拥有固定数量的乘客前往人口集中地,在抵达目的地后对汽车的使用比较有限。由于其环境、监管以及路权许可和批准各方面均已就绪,而其他高速铁路项目(尽管有大量公共资金)还需几年才能实施, 西部快线(XpressWest) 是当前证明高速铁路在美国近期可行的唯一一个重要项目。

27 决策记录,XpressWest 高速旅客列车,页码 63.

28 美国交通部: 联邦铁路管理局。 《美国高速铁路的愿景》(Vision for High Speed Rail in America)。 附件 B,2009 年 4 月。

29 同上

30 美国交通部联邦铁路管理局,决策记录(2011 年 7 月 8 日)。

31 美国内政部土地管理局 决策记录(2011 年 10 月 31 日)。

32 地面交通理事会,决策记录,编号 FD 35544(2011 年 10 月 25 日)。

33 参见Breakthrough Institute,《优秀技术的来源:美国创新的案例研究》(Where Good Technologies Come From: Case Studies in American Innovation)(2010 年 12 月)。



xpresswest 新闻发布



关于我们
首页
项目
经济影响
利益
项目支持
小型企业
规划和开发
里程碑
环境
列车
安全
宜居社区
美国 HSR 政策
西南网络
网络
扩建和连接
帕姆代尔 高地沙漠走廊
媒体和联系方式
联系我们
媒体资料包
链接

U.S. HSR POLICY

Bombardier Train

The Federal Government has expressed numerous public policy objectives related to the development of high speed rail in the United States. XpressWest directly satisfies these objectives.27 XpressWest will provide benefits supporting established strategic policy goals of the Administration and across Cabinet agencies including the Departments of Transportation, Treasury, Labor, Energy, and Commerce. The most sector-specific guidance is provided by the Department of Transportation’s strategic goals, delineated in detail in its report entitled Vision for High Speed Rail in America.28 These stated objectives are to: ensure safe and efficient transportation choices; build a foundation for economic competitiveness; promote energy efficiency and environmental quality; and support interconnected livable communities.29

In October 2008, Congress enacted the Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act (PRIIA), which established a program to develop high-speed rail corridors – authorizing $1.5 billion in funding for high-speed rail project development. In 2009, the federal government announced with great enthusiasm its commitment to become a substantial investor and partner in the development of a world-class U.S. high-speed rail network. Through its $8 billion “down payment” contained in the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and its Vision for High-Speed Rail in America, the government offered to the public its intended strategy, approach, criteria, and implementation plan. These core documents manifest the United States Government’s commitment to the development of a Greenfield industry.

The unprecedented level of committed federal funding for high-speed rail spawned hundreds of funding applications, and billions of dollars in allocations and grants. Many States and interested parties responded to our Governments’ agenda and advanced project development based upon a clear understanding that the benefits associated with developing an efficient high-speed rail network was not necessary, but more importantly satisfied social demands that will continue to challenge our society as population increases and available natural resources diminish.

Despite the palpable excitement created by the government’s commitment, very few projects have accepted our Federal Government’s offer and invested in developing high-speed rail projects. One private project, however, has continued to develop a high-speed rail project that achieves the stated strategic federal policy objectives and is currently “ready to go” with all environmental, regulatory, and right-of-way permitting and approvals in place - the XpressWest.US Department of Transportation

The XpressWest, which will link Southern California to Southern Nevada, is the only proposed high speed rail project in the U.S. that has completed the environmental review process,30 obtained all required right-of-way approvals,31 and received authorization from the Surface Transportation Board (STB) to construct and operate a high speed rail system.32 Moreover, the XpressWest has accomplished these significant milestones without obtaining any public funding to date.

As with other first-of-its-kind Greenfield industries of national importance, completion of the XpressWest is consistent with the U.S. DOT’s Vision for High-Speed Rail in America. Indeed, many established industries we now take for granted such as aviation, micro processing, personal computing, internet, cellular communications, synthetic fuels, and nuclear, wind, and solar power owe a substantial amount of their current success to early, robust federal funding – both through direct funding and subsidies and through federal consumer purchasing.33 A well-developed and properly supported U.S. high-speed rail industry will provide both tangible near-term benefits and long-term societal benefits that will be experienced for generations to come, including the creation of a new stream of commerce as well as Federal and state taxes not currently recognized in our County.

With manageable capital costs, significant market demand, and private capital deployed, XpressWest is an ideal project to start development of high-speed rail. Las Vegas and Southern California represent a unique destination market for high-speed rail ridership with a consistent volume of riders traveling to a concentrated location and limited need for automobiles upon arrival. With its environmental, regulatory, and right-of-way permitting and approvals in place and all other high-speed rail projects still several years away from implementation despite substantial public funding, XpressWest is currently the only significant project to demonstrate the near-term viability of high-speed rail in the U.S.

27 Record of Decision, XpressWest High Speed Passenger Train, pg. 63.

28 U.S. Department of Transportation: Federal Railroad Administration. Vision for High Speed Rail in America. Exhibit B, April 2009.

29 Ibid.

30 U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Railroad Administration, Record of Decision (July 8, 2011).

31 Department of Interior, Bureau of Land Management, Record of Decision (October 31, 2011).

32 Surface Transportation Board, Decision re Docket No. FD 35544 (October 25, 2011).

33 See Breakthrough Institute, Where Good Technologies Come From: Case Studies in American Innovation (December 2010).



xpresswest News Room



About Us
Home
The Project
Economic Impact
Benefits
Project Support
Small Businesses
Planning & Development
Milestones
The Environment
The Trains
Safety
Livable Communities
U.S. HSR Policy
Southwest Network
The Network
Expansion & Connectivity
Palmdale HDC
Media & Contacts
Contact Us
Media Kit
Links